Black Mouton Sheepskin Russian Ushanka Hat for Men

Black Mouton Sheepskin Russian Ushanka Hat for Men Reviews


4.5

Based on 144 Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Displaying 0 to 25 (of 144 reviews)


Reviewed by Warm G
Location: Burlington Wisconsin on 01/22/2015

 Verified Buyer

It has been -7F to 12 F with gusty wind here in Wisconsin. Am I glad I bought this hat. I ordered an X-large and it is just slightly snug when I wear it with the earflaps up. When the are down, it fits perfectly. The hat covers my forehead, the back if my neck and the sides of my face. I suppose that is what a Ushanka is supposed to do. This hat does it really well. The mouton wool is far better than I expected.. The "Ripcord" top appears to be a heave nylon/dacron or polyester material. It looks better than I thought it would and it looks like it will shed water. For the money, or for that matter not for the money, this is one great hat. Having said all of that, I have one complaint and that is the chin strap. It is way to shorty for my old fingers to be able to tie it in a bow under my chin. An extra couple of inches on each side would be perfect. For me, the chin strap is located too far back on the earflaps. When I tighten it up, the front of the earflaps tend to bow out or open up a bit. While that may be great for hearing, it diminishes the performance of the hat somewhat. Finally, I am concerned that the straps do not appear to be attached strongly to the hat. Perhaps they are but I don't see it. If they pulled out of the hat I have no idea how they might be fixed/replaced. That small complaint aside, this hat is worth every penny. I enjoy going out when my St. Bernard would rather sit by the fire. And, she is a pretty tough dog!

Reviewed by KG
Location: Chicago, IL on 01/29/2015

 Verified Buyer

This is my first Ushanka style hat and it is definitely the warmest hat I've ever owned. I live in the Chicago suburbs and commute downtown for work every day, so I'm often looking for warm gear to help during the frigid winter commutes. This hat fits the bill. We're having record cold temps now with this "polar vortex" over the area and this hat was so warm, my head was wet with sweat after my walk to/from the train station. Pro's: - Very Warm - Looks nice - Protects your ears from cold, even if you have a bluetooth device on. Con's: - Will be too warm to wear in non-extreme weather - The tie's to hold the flaps up or down are just a bit too short. I'm finding it hard to tie the flaps down under my chin without fumbling around (and I do not have large fingers). A slightly longer string would have been nice. Overall, this is a great hat. The only reason I gave it 4 stars versus 5 is the cord/tie length and the fact that I don't think I can wear it all winter long, because it's too warm, so I will still need another hat for slightly warmer days.

Reviewed by Tom
Location: Mass. USA on 11/25/2015

 Verified Buyer

I purchased this hat to replace my police winter uniform hat. It fits much better and also looks better than the hat I previously purchased from a uniform store years ago. I wore this hat this past weekend when the wind chill was in the single digits, and it kept my head and face very warm while working at an accident scene. I attached my hat badge, and off I went. I ordered the XXL size and it fit perfectly. My fellow officers may also start purchasing this hat after trying it on and feeling how warm and comfortable it was. I plan to purchase another style for my off duty time. I would highly recommend this hat to anyone working outside on a very cold day. Delivery time was 1 week.

Reviewed by David
Location: UK on 02/17/2015

 Verified Buyer

Speedy international delivery, well packed. Others have commented on the fit and I took great care to ensure that I ordered a size where my true head measurment was at the lower end of the size range covered by the hat size. It fits perfectly. We don't get Arctic winters in the UK but my job, officiating at Humanist funerals, many of which are held entirely at the graveside, means I'm out in some pretty awful winter weather. Last Friday, 13th. February and just a few days after delivery, I had a chance to try it out and it passed with flying colours, keeping my mostly bald head warm and snug. It's very well made and I look forward to many years use from it.

Reviewed by Jean
Location: Hudson, WI, USA on 12/10/2015

 Verified Buyer

Purchased this hat for my husband as birthday gift. I was a little afraid I would get the wrong size, but we followed the instructions for measuring in the hat size chart and it was a perfect size Large (71/4") fit. We were both elated when the hat arrived at the scheduled time, as we are experiencing temp. below zero. We are both happy with the quality and workmanship of the hat -- it keeps his ears and neck warm when flaps worn down. He wears it to the office with his Navy Pea Coat and it looks just great! Thank you Fur Hat World for a great product!

Reviewed by David
Location: Ipswich UK on 02/27/2015

 Verified Buyer

Great website and easy to use. Spring is just round the corner in this part of the world but I conduct Humanist funerals, many of them at the graveside, and I've already had cause to use my new hat on a particularly cold and wet afternoon. I'll be putting it away soon I hope but next winter I'll be ready for anything that comes. Having noted some comments about fit I made sure I measured my head circumference very carefully and ordered accordingly. The fit is perfect.

Reviewed by No M
Location: Southwest Va on 01/27/2015

 Verified Buyer

First off, shipping was fast! I was hoping to have this hat before an incoming cold front reached here and it did! Second, the fit instructions suggests the hat runs a bit small; believe it! I normally wear a large to XL so ordered the XL but it's snug. I've worn it a few times to see if it stretches a bit (so far seems to) for a perfect fit. The third thing is both a strong complement and a warning -- this hat is WARM! I'm too hot with it on if the outside temperature is over 30 degrees.

Reviewed by tomjarz
Location: San Antonio,TX on 01/13/2014

 Verified Buyer

This is beautiful and seems to be very well made. I was a little disappointed that this particular model is made in China, but the fit, finish, and price are great. I fallowed the sizing directions on the Fur Hat World website and the hat fits perfectly. I ordered this hat on line Sunday night, it shipped Monday from Manitoba, B.C. Canada and by Friday of that same week I had it in San Antonio, TX! The shipping was amazingly fast and very inexpensive. I am very pleased with these folks and wold buy buy from them again.

Reviewed by gasspasser49
Location: Jackson, Wyoming on 09/10/2015

 Verified Buyer

Very handsome. All employees in the office handled and tried it on. Wyoming winters call for a hat this style for me because I am old enough to live in the cold and tolerate it, but not enjoy outside activities. The ushanka's keep my noodle and the rest me a lot more comfortable. Folks always comment on it ( I have a Mink as well) and ask about the company purchased from. Thank you.

Reviewed by Michael
Location: Minnesota on 02/19/2015

 Verified Buyer

I really like this hat. It looks good and feels good. My head size was between the large and extra large, so I purchased the extra large, as recommended. It fits really good. It is very good quality and looks sharp. It is very warm, which is a must for this cold winter. The hat is designed in Canada, but it is actually made in China. It is good quality.

Reviewed by Junior45
Location: Memphis, TN on 01/12/2015

 Verified Buyer

Since we're in a current warm spell, I haven't actually used the hat yet. I am very pleased with it's apparent quality and style. It is a very luxurious hat and I am sure that it will be very warm. I'm actually looking forward to it turning cold again so I can use it. I followed the sizing chart and I am a touch concerned the hat may be a touch small. The purchase experience on the website was easy and delivery was right on time.

Reviewed by Dave
Location: Massachusetts on 12/29/2015

 Verified Buyer

Arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Excellent quality. I have a 60cm crown, which is usually considered a "large." Just make sure to pay attention to THEIR sizing chart which told me to order an XL. It fit perfectly. Looking forward to shopping here again.

Reviewed by Allen
Location: Suffolk, VA, USA on 12/24/2015

 Verified Buyer

This is a replacement for a similar hat I bought years ago. The wool is very soft, the hat is well made, and fits just right. It fits well down on the head, so it is not likely to blow off. The only drawback is the ear flaps have to be tied instead of using a clip (not easy to tie with gloves on). I highly recommend this hat.

Reviewed by Dorothy
Location: Scotland on 12/16/2015

 Verified Buyer

My shopping experience was excellent - the description of the product was perfectly accurate and having received the hat very quickly ( I live in Europe) the high quality of it was immediately obvious. It is a gift for my husband and he is delighted with it's superior warmth and style.

Reviewed by Stephen
Location: Lafayette, LA USA on 12/11/2015

 Verified Buyer

- Importantly, I had concerned that the amount of insulation on the dome of the hat would be inadequate, since this was NOT discussed in the product description. However, I was happy to find that the ceiling of the hat contained ample thickness and insulation, commensurate with the plush side flaps. - Delivery was prompt and ahead of schedule.

Reviewed by Philip
Location: Adirondacks NY on 10/07/2015

 Verified Buyer

Extra large is a bit smaller than I hoped. More like a large. Top of hat is quilted cloth, not fur like my old stolen Ushanka which was bought in Moscow. This one is very well made, however, and warm enough for the Adirondacks. I like the leather ties for the ear flaps and the fur is very even.

Reviewed by cathy
Location: minnesota on 04/01/2015

 Verified Buyer

Beautiful hat. Just a really nice looking and sturdy hat. The material/fur is gorgeous and the earflaps are a must here in Minnesota. He was very very pleased to receive this on his birthday. The service was excellent. Would recommend this company to all. Thank you.

Reviewed by apubachi
Location: Montreal, QC on 03/20/2015

 Verified Buyer

Be careful about sizes. I think this is a beautiful, sturdy Ushanka but , at least in my case, the size M ordered was very tight and I had to return it for a Large. Possibly because the thick lining, as measured inside the fur exterior, reduced the circumference by about 1 inch or one size as compared to the Sizing Chart.

Reviewed by Wayne
Location: Akron, Ohio on 03/19/2015

 Verified Buyer

The hat is everything promised and more. Perfect fit, great look and toasty warm. Ohio isn't Alaska but we do get our share of cold snowy weather and this hat will easily do double duty for work (I work outdoors) and for dress. I have already gotten compliments on the great looks.

Reviewed by Spud
Location: Orleans, Ontario, Canada on 03/15/2015

 Verified Buyer

Needed to exchange original purchase for a larger size which was done quickly and efficiently. The hat is much appreciated in view of this never ending winter. Being a senior I found their website easy to navigate and I would have no hesitation in recommending this company to anyone.

Reviewed by Grey F
Location: River Grove Il on 03/13/2015

 Verified Buyer

Great Ushanka. Hat size is in-between. Large was too big and Medium is a tight fit. I anticipate it will stretch a little with time. Quality is superior,.and I highly recommend the Fur Hat World. My return on the large hat was handled quickly and credit came fast as well..

Reviewed by mr.lucky
Location: queens ny on 02/14/2015

 Verified Buyer

shopping with you has been nothing less than great delivery was super fast and the product was even better than expected, sadly though im returning for the next larger size to fit my big head :-) will be returning tomorow via usps yes shoppng for more soon.

Reviewed by sherlock
Location: ESSEX ENGLAND on 02/12/2015

 Verified Buyer

I used to own a pukka Russian Ushanka made from rabbit fur. Sadly I lost it when moving home. My new sheepskin version is superb. Recently, we too have been having some cold weather here in the UK,nothing like Russia of course,but with bone chilling winds. My new hat is perfect and keeps me very warm. I am recommending it to other people.

Reviewed by Matt T
Location: Lincoln UK on 01/29/2015

 Verified Buyer

Mouton russian sheepskin Ushanka hat (made in Canada). Easy to order, arrived within a few days and the product is superb! Warm as toast, comfortable and a bargain at £38 - will probably only use it for 3 months of the year when the temp drops below 0 and the snow arrives. I was a bit dubious oredering online but no regrets at all now.

Reviewed by Eddie
Location: Jackson, MS, USA on 01/18/2015

 Verified Buyer

Been looking for this for years. exactly what I wanted, had one of another color for years, lost it while moving. It's warm, comfortable and looks good whether dressed or in causal attire. Would like one in grey, brown and camouflage. Will purchase again. Thanks again.

Displaying 0 to 25 (of 144 reviews)

See all details for Black Mouton Sheepskin Russian Ushanka Hat for Men



Fur Hat World average customer review rating

4.8 out of 5
Based on 25 customer reviews.

 

View customer reviews for Fur Hat World at Bizrate View Google Customer Reviews for Fur Hat World